Skip To Content

Vitalant Welcomes Cindy Elkins and Jeff Shumway to Board of Trustees

Vitalant today announced two business and community leaders are joining its Board of Trustees; Cindy Elkins and Jeff Shumway were appointed in November 2022 for service beginning in 2023.

About the new trustees
Cindy Elkins brings more than 30 years of experience in high-growth technology and personalized healthcare to the Vitalant Board of Trustees. Her career includes senior executive roles at Genentech-Roche, one of the world’s largest biotech companies, Juno Therapeutics (now Bristol Myers Squibb), a pioneer in the development of CAR T therapeutics, and Ariba (now SAP), a leader in business-to-business eCommerce. In addition to being an entrepreneur, Cindy served on the board of Weight Watchers, and is currently on the board of Chimeric Therapeutics and the Foundation for Art and Healing. She earned an MBA from Santa Clara University and a Bachelor of Science degree in applied mathematics from UCLA.

Jeff Shumway is an experienced technical thought leader and senior executive with background in both the public and private sectors. The winner of the Arizona 2021 Global CIO of the Year Award, he most recently served as chief information officer for Insight Enterprises, a global Fortune 500 technology company. He and his team’s cybersecurity efforts have also earned national awards. Jeff holds a master’s degree in IT systems from Arizona State University and a bachelor’s degree in business administration.

David R. Green, president and CEO of Vitalant, said: “Cindy and Jeff each bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to Vitalant. With the rest of the Board of Trustees, they will provide valuable insight and guidance as we fulfill our lifesaving mission in service to donors, patients and partners.”  

Other trustee members are Patricia Abrego-Santucci; Heather Allen, M.D.; Sunny P. Chico; Robert S. Cole; William A. Dittman, M.D.; Bill Gates; John S. Lewis; Clifford A. Lowell, M.D., Kathleen S. Pushor; Jim Schraith (chair); Paul E. Stander, M.D.; Ron W. Waeckerlin, M.D.; Jon H. Waters, M.D.